Fans of Weird Texas, Weird Arizona and many of the other Weird books are probably already familiar with the work of Troy Paiva, photographer and roadside adventurer. As a contributor to the series, Troy has added a unique flavor to many stories with his incomparable night photography.

Shooting by the light of the moon, Troy visits decrepit aircraft, forgotten ghost towns and fading motels throughout the Southwest and creates stunning images with little more than a tripod, a flash and a stack of colored gels, transforming the old and decaying into scenes both unearthly and beautiful.

His site Lost America has for years been a popular stop for photographers and travelers alike, and in 2003 he released his first book, Lost America: The Abandoned Roadside West, hailed as "a seductive journey into the unique world his camera's lenses capture ... replete with evocative remembrances of the eerie and wondrous moments Paiva has shared with the so-called empty desert spaces." I have two copies, myself.

This month, Paiva has released his second book, titled Night Vision: The Art of Urban Exploration, another captivating collection of roadside photographs shot in Paiva's signature style. Featuring derelict hotels, decommissioned military installations, aircraft boneyards and more, Night Vision showcases some of the most exciting aspects of the rising phenomenon now widely known as urbex.

I highly recommend ordering copies for yourself and all your friends.